32 teams for Reliance Foundation national-level jrs football

first_imgMumbai, Dec 28 (PTI) Thirty two champion teams from the eight city legs of the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports School and College football competition are set to vie for the top honours in the national-level championship to be held here from December 30 to January 7.Teams which were victorious in their respective city leg categories of junior boys, senior boys, senior girls and college boys from Mumbai, Delhi, Guwahati, Kochi, Goa, Chennai, Pune and Kolkata would play in the tournament in which matches are to be held at the Cooperage ground in South Mumbai and Father Agnel School Ground in Vashi, said a media release today.The inaugural edition of the championship carries a total prize money of Rs 16 lakhs, with an additional individual scholarship awards worth Rs 2 lakhs for the twenty best players.The league stage of the championship would be played over the first five days in both venues leading to the semis and final matches from January 4 at the Cooperage ground.All matches would be officiated by the All India Football Federation-appointed Match Commissioners and Referees, the release said.Launched this July in partnership with All India Football Federation and all eight Indian Super League clubs, the inaugural edition of the competition witnessed over 2500 teams from 1800 institutes in eight cities competing under the 4 categories.Reliance Foundation Youth Sports has an elite six-member Advisory Board comprising Chairperson Nita Ambani, sports icons Sachin Tendulkar, Leander Paes and Saina Nehwal, along with Prof. Dipak Jain and Ranbir Kapoor, the release added. PTI SSR NRB BASadvertisementlast_img